About Lorrha GAA

Lorrha/Dorrha GAA Club was founded in 1885, and has been primarily a hurling club. We’ve had great success on the playing fields including eight North Tipperary Senior Hurling titles. Lorrha has produced many great teams and players over the years, who have worn the Lorrha jersey with distinction and pride. A number have gone on to represent Tipperary at all levels of the game and brought All-Ireland medals back to the club.

Prior to 1938, there were six separate teams in the area. Redwood, Rathcabbin, The Pike, Abbeyville, Carrigahorig, and Lorrha all played at championship level before there had to be one club for the area.

Lorrha trained and hurled in many locations prior to finding their permanent home in Moatfield (now Tony Reddin Park). The early 1900s saw teams train at John Doolan’s field in Rathcabbin. They also trained in O’Neills Moor, Roden and John Reddin’s field in Cullagh during the twenties and thirties.

Michael O’Meara’s (Blakefield) field was used from the mid-thirties to the mid-forties before moving to Ger Moylans field at The Pike, Cullagh. The club returned to Blakefield in 1954 before making the final move to Moatfield in 1968.

When Moatfield was being re-seeded in the early eighties, training switched to Seamus O’Meara’s field in Derry, and during the levelling of the pitch in 1988/1989, club teams prepared in Mary Lane’s field in Corrigeen.

Lorrha/Dorrha GAA’s club grounds at Moatfield were formally renamed Tony Reddin Park & Community Centre in December 2019. The then GAA President, John Horan, was on hand for a special event, which was also attended by members of the Reddin family, including his wife Maura.

A plaque in honour of the legendary hurling goalkeeper, who would have turned 100 that year, was unveiled and later erected outside the pavilion.

A report about the event can be read here on the Nenagh Guardian website.

Lorrha’s Greatest Ever 15 (Selected in 1984)

  • Paddy (The Champion) O’Meara 1886
  • Pat O’Meara 1886
  • Joe Sammon 1905
  • Tom Duffy 1914 & 1924
  • Felix Cronin 1915
  • Mick Cronin 1924
  • Dinny O’Meara 1924
  • Johnny Gaynor 1924
  • Paddy Gaynor 1924
  • Tom Smith 1928
  • Tony Reddin 1948 & 1956
  • Billy Hogan 1948 & 1956
  • Liam King 1966
  • Noel Lane 1966
  • Sean O’Meara 1966